Album Reviews are Coming

So I think it’s been almost a year and half since I last posted to this blog. For anyone that actually reads these things I’m here to say that I’m going to be trying to do album reviews again. I had only done the one review previously (which I will be taking down) and then some song recommendations as well (which will be staying up), but now I want to really try to get going on this again, because I do really enjoy it.

There is going to be a format I use to choose albums to review. I don’t want to only be talking about new albums so I’ve concocted a system that will keep me listening to new music, as well as talking about ones I already know very well. I’m going to cycle off albums in sets of 3. The first album, being one that I’ve either never listened to, or have heard very few songs from. The second will be one that I’ve listened to before but may not have given much of a chance or I just have more to explore within the album. The third, will be an album that I know most of the ins and outs of the music. Now keep in mind, this is my plan for right now, but because I am impulsive and have a difficult time sticking to plans I don’t know if this is a formula I will stick to forever. For now it is what I intend to do.

Lastly, when I say the word “review,” I am using the term rather loosely. Yes, I will be giving each album a rating, talking about its strengths and weaknesses, and giving highlights and lowlights. But I don’t want it to be a super strict reviewing formula or process because to me, that takes away a lot of the fun of doing the reviews. They will be very informal. I will do my best to talk about why people may or may not like something objectively, but ultimately art is subjective. I will love things that other people think are crass, boring, or ridiculous. I may dislike something that is praised as a masterpiece (and trust me this will happen at least once or twice). If you do happen to read any of these, and want to give your opinion on the album, go ahead and leave a comment! Music discussion is the best discussion.

So all in all, I want to be helpful in opening people up to new music that I think is great, but I’m just one guy with an opinion. Don’t take anything tooooo seriously.

– Dk

Leave a Reply

